Players, tiles, stock available, date, time and location

Some of the biggest names in world cricket have signed up for the 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) auction. But not all will be able to play in the cash-rich T20 tournament. (More cricket news)

The Board of Cricket of India (BCCI) on Tuesday finalized the list of players for the two-day IPL 2022 Players Auction, which will be held on February 12-13 in Bangalore.

In December, the eight pre-existing franchises announced their retention slate. As expected, the game’s legends — MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, etc — were retained, but there were some big surprises. Consult HERE the list of selected players.

This was followed by the two new franchises announcing their initial purchases ahead of the auction.

Here’s everything you need to know about the IPL 2022 auction

The players

No less than 1214 players had registered for the IPL 2022 auction, but it has been reduced to 590 players. This final list also includes 44 new names that were entered into the bidding pool at the request of the ten franchises.

48 players are in the top bracket with a base price of Rs 2 crore. There are 20 players with a base price of Rs 1.5 crore while 34 are in the list with a reserve price of Rs 1 crore.

Marquee players

Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammed Shami, Faf du Plessis, David Warner, Pat Cummins, Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada and Trent Boult.

Players in the INR 2 Crore Bracket

Ravichandran Ashwin, Devdutt Padikkal, Trent Boult, Pat Cummins, Quinton de Kock, Shikhar Dhawan, Faf du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada, Mohammed Shami, David Warner, Shimron Hetmyer, David Miller, Suresh Raina, Jason Roy, Steve Smith, Robin Uthappa, Shakib Al Hasan, Mitchell Marsh, Krunal Pandya, Harshal Patel, Ishan Kishan, Sam Billings, Dinesh Karthik, Ambati Rayudu, Matthew Wade, Deepak Chahar, Lockie Ferguson, Josh Hazlewood, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mustafizur Rahman, Shardul Thakur, Mark Wood, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adil Rashid, Imran Tahir, Adam Zampa, Mujeeb Zadran, Chris Jordan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Evin Lewis, Jofra Archer, James Vince, Marchant de Lange, Saqib Mahmood, Ashton Agar, David Willey, Craig Overton.

Countries and Caps

Among the 590 cricketers (370 Indians and 220 foreigners), a total of 228 are capped players while 355 are uncapped and seven belong to associated nations. The breakdown by country is here:

Afghanistan: 17; Australia: 47; Bangladesh: 5; England: 24; Ireland: 5; New Zealand: 24; South Africa: 33; Sri Lanka: 23; West Indies: 34; Zimbabwe: 1; Namibia: 3; Nepal: 1; Scotland: 2; United States: 1.

Check out the full list of players HERE.

The teams

With the addition of the Ahmedabad and Lucknow franchises, the IPL has become a ten-team affair. The teams are: Ahmedabad (not yet named), Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Lucknow Super Giants, Mumbai Indians, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad. Here’s how teams can fill their squads:

Read: Teams – Stock available (INR) – Slots – Overseas

Ahmedabad – 52 Cr – 22 – 7;
Chennai Super Kings: 48 CR – 21 – 7;
Capitals of Delhi: 47.5 Cr – 21 – 7;
Cavaliers of Kolkata Knight: 48 Cr – 21 – 6;
Lucknow Super Giants: 59 Cr – 22 – 7;
Mumbai Indians: 48 Cr – 21 – 7;
Kings of Punjab: 72 Cr – 23 – 8;
Rajasthani Royals: 62 Cr – 22 – 7;
Royal Challengers Bangalore: 57 Cr – 22 – 7;
Sunrisers Hyderabad – 68 Cr – 22 – 7.


As usual, the auction will start with marquee players, followed by trait-capped players – hitters, all-rounders, wicket-keepers, point guards and spinners; then uncapped players.

The accelerated auction will begin after player #161 in the revised register, reports Cricbuzz citing a BCCI sender.

“For planning purposes, please note that, subject to timelines, it is anticipated that the expedited process will begin after player #161. The first expedited process will cover all players from 162 to 590. Franchises will be asked to nominate a defined number of players from this group before 10 p.m. on the evening of February 12,” an email from BCCI shared on the portal.

“Once these players (162-590) have been submitted, franchises will be invited to submit player names (unfeatured/unsold) from all of those on the full 590 roster for expedited submission. This will be covered more in detail at the auction briefing on February 11, 2022.”

There will be an auction simulation on February 11.

The IPL 2022 Players Auction will be broadcast live on Star Sports Network. The live stream will be available on Disney+ Hotstar. Times are not yet announced.

Last year, Hugh Edmeades led the auction.

Back To Top