IPL auction 2022: List of successful players and everything you need to know

Indian Premier League 2022 will have its mega auctions on Saturday 12th February and Sunday 13th February 2022 in Bangalore where the 10 teams will choose players to complete their squads for the upcoming cash-rich league season.

This year the title sponsorship has been transferred to one of India’s oldest and most renowned business conglomerates, Tata, and hence from the 2022 season it will be called TATA IPL 2022.

Here is your window on the auction as we answer all the basic questions related to the IPL Mega Auction 2022.

When and where will Tata IPL Mega Auction 2022 air?

The Tata IPL Mega Auction 22 will start from 11am IST on both days i.e. February 12-13 and will be streamed live on Star Sports Network and will also be streamed live on Hotstar.

What is the list of players retained in the IPL 2022 squads?

The original eight teams were given the choice of retaining a maximum of four players where at most, two foreign players and one uncapped player could be retained. There was a cap of three on the retention of capped Indian players.

It was after the retentions were announced by the original eight teams that the new entrants – Gujarat Titans (GT) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) were allowed to choose their three players from the pool of unsuccessful players.

New teams could also only choose a maximum of two capped Indian players, one foreigner and one uncapped Indian player from their roster.

List of players retained by IPL teams ahead of Mega Auctions 2022
Team Player 1 Player 2 Player 3 Player 4
CSK Ravindra Jadeja MS Dhoni Moeen Ali Ruturaj Gaikwad
KKR Andre Russel Varun Chakravarthy Venkatesh Iyer Sunil Nostril
MID Rohit Sharma Jasprit Bumrah Suryakumar Yadav Kieron Pollard
CC Rishabh Pants Prithvi Shaw Axar Patel Anrich Nortje
SSR Kane Williamson Abdul Samad Omran Malik NONE
BCR Virat Kohli Glen Maxwell Mohd Siraj NONE
RR Sanju Samson Joe Buttler Yashasvi Jaiswal NONE
PBK Arshdeep Singh Mayank Agarwal NONE NONE
GT Hardik Pandya Rashid Khan Shubman Gill N / A
KJV KL Rahul Marcus Stoinis Ravi Bishnoi N / A

NONE– No player retained

N / A– Not applicable since only three players could be selected

How much is the remaining purse of all IPL 2022 teams for the IPL Mega Auction?

Table showing the remaining purse of all IPL teams
IPL Teams Remaining purse in Crores (RS)
Bangalore Royal Challengers 57
Bombay Indians 48
Sunrisers Hyderabad 68
Chennai Super Kings 48
Rajasthani Royals 62
Kings of Punjab 72
Kolkata Knight Riders 48
Gujarat Titans 52
Lucknow Super Giants 59
Capitals of Delhi 47.5

Which country has how many shortlisted players for IPL Auction 2022?

Number of Shortlisted Players from Various Countries for IPL Mega Auction 2022
Country Numbers of players
Afghanistan 17
Australia 47
Bangladesh 05
England 24
Namibia 03
Nepal 01
New Zealand 24
Scotland 02
South Africa 33
Sri Lanka 23
United States 01
West Indies 34
Zimbabwe 01

Dear reader,

Business Standard has always endeavored to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that matter to you and that have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your constant encouragement and feedback on how to improve our offering has only strengthened our resolve and commitment to these ideals. Even in these challenging times stemming from Covid-19, we remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative opinions and incisive commentary on relevant topical issues.
However, we have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more so that we can continue to bring you more great content. Our subscription model has received an encouraging response from many of you who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of bringing you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practice the journalism we are committed to.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

digital editor

Back To Top