Indian Premier League Mega Auction, Player List, Australian Players, Teams, Prices, News

There’s no better proof of the mouth-watering money on offer in the Indian Premier League than this year’s $100 million mega auction, the second night of which takes place on Sunday. FOLLOW NIGHT 2 LIVE HERE

David Warner and Pat Cummins were two of 10 big-name stars to kick off the auction, determining the IPL homes of nearly every player for the 2022 season.

Cummins set the record for the most expensive foreign player in 2020 when he went for A$3.17 million (A$15.5 crore), but ended up taking a pay cut for the 2022 season, taken by Kolkata Knight Riders for 7.25 crore (15.5 crore). 34m).

Watch the Dettol T20 series Australia vs Sri Lanka. Every game live and on demand on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

1 crore (100 lakh) is worth around 186,000 Australian dollars.

From the Australian contingent, Josh Hazlewood became the most expensive player bought with a A$1.44 million deal to join Royal Challengers Bangalore.

It marks a sensational rise for Hazlewood, who last year earned A$408,000 and this year five teams bid for him.

Kagiso Rabada set the new record with a prize of 9.25 crore (A$1.71 million), joining Punjab, before Shreyas Iyer overtook him for 12.25 crore (A$2.27 million) in Kolkata.

David Warner was the latest marquee on offer and fetched 6.25 crore (A$1.16m) from Delhi from Ricky Ponting – as did Cummins, taking a 50% pay cut from his previous contract (12 .5 crore).

The 10 marquees went for a total of A$14.1 million.

Australia take first win without Langer | 03:25

West Indies’ Shimron Hetmyer fetched 8.25 crore – more than Cummins and Warner – in Rajasthan as the non-marquee section of the auction got underway.

Steve Smith, at a reserve price of 2 crore ($370,000), was not sold but could still be picked up in Sunday’s bidding round when teams can name unsold players they are interested in. This is still a massive drop from its $2.5. million with Rajasthan just over 12 months ago.

Harshal Patel, who made his international debut in India’s T20 series against New Zealand last November, was the next man in the 10 after selling for 10.75 crore (A$1.99 million) in Bangalore.

Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga, the world’s top-ranked T20 bowler and fifth-best all-around player, then moved over 10 crores in the auction before auctioneer Hugh Edmeades collapsed, but he was thankfully fine .

The auction resumed at 9:15 p.m. AEDT with Hasaranga for the 10.75 crore it was sitting on when the auction was paused.


THE AUSSIES: $8m Australian talent on offer and asking price for all 47

ULTIMATE GUIDE: Everything you need to know about the IPL auction

Mitch Marsh took a while to win an initial bid at his 2 crore minimum price, but quickly sparked interest, with Hyderabad and Delhi battling it out for Western Australia.

Marsh quickly overtook Warner’s price but could not reach Cummins, joining Warner in Delhi for 6.5 crore (A$1.2 million).

All teams passed Matthew Wade at 2 crore.

Rising 23-year-old Indian goalkeeper and batsman Ishan Kishan set a new record as he traveled to Mumbai for a remarkable 15.25 crore (A$2.83 million).

British keeper Jonny Bairstow fetched more than Aussies Marsh and Warner, earning 6.75 crore from Punjab.

UNDERTAKER strikes! single wide bowling | 01:42

There are 47 Aussies on offer as the IPL expands to 10 teams, which means more money and more places up for grabs.

Two new franchises, Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans of Ahmedabad have joined Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Marcus Stoinis (Lucknow) and Glenn Maxwell (Bangalore) were two of the 27 players selected by the clubs.

A total of 590 players are in the pool – 370 Indians and 220 foreigners – of which 49 are set at the maximum reserve price of INR 2 crore (20 million rupees, or $370,000).

The auction will take place over two days, with the IPL 2022 season running from April 2 to June 3.

RETAINED PLAYERS (Bought in case of Lucknow, Gujarat)

Kings of Punjab: Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik

Rajasthani Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja

Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarty

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah

Capitals of Delhi: Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje

Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi

Follow the IPL 2022 Mega Auction in our live blog below!

If you don’t see the blog, tap here.

Back To Top